Diagnosing Lung Cancer in Good Time

In Switzerland more than ten people develop lung cancer every day, i.e. 3,800 each year. Nearly everyone dies of this disease; if a patient is found to have developed lung cancer in Switzerland today, the patient only has a 15 % chance of being cured. Today, in most cases, lung cancer is diagnosed at an advanced stage – far too late for any effective therapeutic measures. Lung cancer, in fact, is the form of cancer that most people die of in Switzerland.

This does not have to be the case. There is a scientifically approved method that can clearly reduce deaths from lung cancer. Whoever as a smoker, ex-smoker or non-smoker belongs to a risk-group, can undergo a lung-cancer test with low-dose computed tomographic screening (CT). This CT screening enables most of the sources of lung cancer to be detected at a very early stage and thus at a stage where it can be cured. There is no other method existing today for diagnosing lung cancer reliably, in good time and systematically.

In order to reduce the high, lung-cancer mortality rate, the non-profit Foundation for Pulmonary Diagnostics runs the National Programme for Early Lung-Cancer Diagnosis.

In this programme the Foundation for Pulmonary Diagnostics offers those who belong to a risk-group the possibility of having themselves tested simply, quickly and at low cost with low-dose computed tomographic screening (CT). They are subsequently told at the earliest stage possible – that still enables a successful course of treatment to be given – whether they have lung cancer. They are then recommended a course of treatment.

If you think that you belong to a risk-group, you can subscribe here. We shall also be pleased to answer all your questions about the programme for early, lung-cancer diagnosis.

Do you belong to a risk group?
You belong to a risk group if you, as a smoker or ex-smoker or non-smoker who has never smoked, answer one or more of the following questions in the affirmative.

Question 1: Are you 50 years old or more, and do you have 20 or more so-called «packet years» (e.g. have you smoked one packet every day for 20 years, or 2 packets every day for 10 years, etc.)?

Question 1: Have you had lung cancer that is considered cured?

Question 3: Are you 50 years old or more, and do you have, or have you had nasopharyngeal cancer?

Question 4: Are you 50 years old or more, and are you exposed, or have you been exposed to carcinogenic substances, such as passive smoke, asbestos, radon, diesel soot particles or diesel fumes, on a regular daily basis for several hours?

Question 5:Are you 50 years old or more, and do you have, or did you have two or more relatives in the first degree (parents, children or brothers and sisters) who have developed lung cancer?

If your answer to one or more of the above questions is in the affirmative, we advise you to have yourself examined.

 

Phone 044 384 84 84
Monday to Friday 1000–1600 hrs.

 

Studies:
«Reduced Lung-Cancer Mortality with Low-Dose Computed Tomographic Screening», published in «The New England Journal of Medicine», 4th August, 2011, Vol. 365, No. 5

«Survival of Patients with Stage I Lung Cancer Detected on CT Screening», published in «The New England Journal of Medicine», 26th October 2006, Vol. 355, No. 17

Dépister à temps un cancer du poumon

En Suisse, plus de dix personnes par jour contractent un cancer du poumon – 3800 par an. Presque tous les patients atteints en meurent: lorsqu’un cancer du poumon est aujourd’hui dépisté en Suisse, les chances de guérison ne sont que de 15 %. Car un cancer du poumon n’est généralement diagnostiqué qu’à un stade avancé de la maladie – bien trop tard pour un traitement efficace. Le cancer du poumon est ainsi la forme de cancer la plus mortelle en Suisse.

Ceci n’est pas une fatalité. Une méthode scientifique reconnue permet de réduire considérablement la mortalité due au cancer du poumon: les fumeurs, anciens fumeurs ou non-fumeurs identifiés comme personnes à risques ont la possibilité de se soumettre à un dépistage par scanner thoracique à faible dose (CT). Dans la plupart des cas, cet examen permet de diagnostiquer la maladie à un stade très précoce et guérissable. Aucune autre méthode n’est aujourd’hui disponible pour dépister en temps utiles un cancer du poumon de manière fiable et systématique.

Afin de réduire le taux de mortalité très élevé du cancer du poumon, la Fondation pour le diagnostic pulmonaire, reconnue d'utilité publique, pratique le Programme nationale de dépistage précoce du cancer du poumon.

Dans le cadre de ce programme, la Fondation pour le diagnostic pulmonaire propose aux personnes appartenant à un groupe à risque de se faire examiner simplement, rapidement et à peu de frais par un scanner thoracique à faible dose (CT). Cet examen permet de révéler à un stade très précoce, c'est-à-dire lorsque les chances de guérison sont encore grandes, si vous êtes atteint d’un cancer du poumon. A la fin de l’examen, une recommandation claire sur les mesures à prendre vous sera remise.

Si vous pensez appartenir à un groupe à risque, inscrivez-vous ici. Nous répondrons volontiers à toutes vos questions sur le programme de dépistage précoce d’un cancer du poumon.

Appartenez-vous à un groupe à risque?
En tant que fumeur ou ancien fumeur ou non-fumeur n’ayant jamais fumé, vous appartenez à un groupe à risque si vous répondez oui à l’une ou à plusieurs des questions suivantes.

Question 1: Etes-vous âgé de 50 ans ou davantage et avez-vous fumé au moins un paquet de cigarettes par jour pendant 20 ans ou au moins deux paquets de cigarettes par jour pendant 10 ans?

Question 2: Etiez-vous atteint d’un cancer du poumon considéré comme guéri ?

Question 3: Etes-vous âgé de 50 ans ou davantage et êtes-vous ou étiez-vous atteint d’un cancer de la cavité buccale ou du pharynx?

Question 4: Etes-vous âgé de 50 ans ou davantage et êtes-vous ou étiez-vous exposé à des substances cancérigènes, par exemple régulièrement et pendant plusieurs heures par jour à la fumée passive, amiante, radon, particules de suie de diesel ou vapeurs de diesel?

Question 5: Etes-vous âgé de 50 ans ou davantage et avez-vous ou aviez-vous deux parents du premier degré (parents ou enfants ou frères et sœurs) ou plus atteints d’un cancer du poumon?

Nous vous conseillons un examen médical si vous répondez oui à l’une ou à plusieurs des questions ci-dessus.

 

Téléphone 044 384 84 84
Lundi à vendredi, 1000–1600 heures

 

Etudes:
«Reduced Lung-Cancer Mortality with Low-Dose Computed Tomographic Screening», publiée dans le «The New England Journal of Medicine», 4 août 2011, vol. 365, n° 5

«Survival of Patients with Stage I Lung Cancer Detected on CT Screening», publiée dans le «The New England Journal of Medicine», 26 octobre 2006, vol. 355, n° 17